Published on April 11th, 2023 | by Mark Dwyer


Wide-Ranging Airspace Restrictions Published for POTUS Visit

The IAA has published three notices detailing Temporary Restricted Areas (TRA) that will be established around Dublin, Louth and Mayo. All three include an outer TRA of 30NM and an inner TRA of 10NM and extend from the surface to FL180. Flights in the outer TRA require permission from the Department of Justice at least 24 hours in advance and must include their approval number in their flight plan. A number of conditions must be fulfilled if approval is granted for flight in the outer TRA but the majority of General Aviation categories are excluded.

Please click on the relevant notice for full details:

FLIGHT RESTRICTIONS – Over Dublin City & County and parts of Surrounding Counties

FLIGHT RESTRICTIONS – Over County Mayo and parts of Surrounding Counties

FLIGHT RESTRICTIONS – Over County Louth and surrounding counties within the Sovereign Airspace of Ireland

Tags: , , , ,

About the Author

Mark is an airline pilot flying the Boeing 737 for a major European airline. In addition he is also a Type Rating Instructor, Type Rating Examiner and Base Training Captain on the B737. Outside of commercial flying Mark enjoys flying light aircraft from the smallest 3 Axis microlights up to heavier singles. He is also an instructor and EASA Examiner on single engines and a UK CAA Examiner. He flies the Chipmunk for the Irish Historic Flight Foundation (IHFF). Mark became the Chairman of the National Microlight Association of Ireland (NMAI) in 2013 and has overseen a massive growth in the organisation. In this role he has worked at local and national levels. In 2015, Mark won ‘Upcoming Aviation Professional Award’ at the Aviation Industry Awards sponsored by the IAA. Mark launched this website back in 2002 while always managing the website, he has also been Editor and Deputy Editor of FlyingInIreland Magazine from 2005 to 2015.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑