Published on April 11th, 2021 | by Mark Dwyer


Squawk 7000 – Fitzmaurice & The Portlaoise Plane

Celebrating the 93rd anniversary of the first East to West Transatlantic flight that changed the world and an update on the Portlaoise Plane – on this episode I speak with Alan Phelan – Vice Chairman of the Society. CEO & Founder of APTN.aero and Teddy Fennelly, Chairman of the Col Fitzmaurice Commemorative Society. They look forward to welcoming you to their first virtual commemoration marking the incredible achievements of Col Fitzmaurice, the impact of the Portlaoise Plane during his formative years in Laois and the legacy of the Bremen flight. Join them on Mon, 12 April 202 19:00 – 20:30 IST

Col Fitzmaurice was an Irish aviation pioneer. He was a member of the crew of the Bremen, which made the first successful trans-Atlantic aircraft flight from East to West on 12–13 April 1928.

Eventbrite         https://fitz1928.eventbrite.ie 

Facebook:          http://bit.ly/fitz1928.

Instagram:          http://bit.ly/insta-fitz1928

Twitter:               @FitzFamous

Tags: , , , , , ,

About the Author

Mark is an airline pilot flying the Boeing 737 for a major European airline. In addition he is also a Type Rating Instructor, Type Rating Examiner and Base Training Captain on the B737. Outside of commercial flying Mark enjoys flying light aircraft from the smallest 3 Axis microlights up to heavier singles. He is also an instructor and EASA Examiner on single engines and a UK CAA Examiner. He flies the Chipmunk for the Irish Historic Flight Foundation (IHFF). Mark became the Chairman of the National Microlight Association of Ireland (NMAI) in 2013 and has overseen a massive growth in the organisation. In this role he has worked at local and national levels. In 2015, Mark won ‘Upcoming Aviation Professional Award’ at the Aviation Industry Awards sponsored by the IAA. Mark launched this website back in 2002 while always managing the website, he has also been Editor and Deputy Editor of FlyingInIreland Magazine from 2005 to 2015.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑